M.I.A.

2009/09/23 at 2:34 PM 3 comments

That is where I have been literally, missing in action. It never fails in life that just when you think that you have it all figured out the yin and yang become unbalanced and your once Feng Shui world becomes a complete negative polarity. Well guess what?  I am living it!  My house is complete disarray, my marriage is under a huge strain, and I want to pack up my shoes, my dogs, and my laptop and head for the sanctuary of alone-ness. Which in all honesty is where I have been camped out most of the time this past week…or two whenever I could master an escape!

I am slowly learning that it is normal that there are times in life when something’s will become all-consuming.  However, it never fails that during  these periods of consumption when the goal is to devote all of your time and energy into dealing with it, inevitably, a hundred other things feel neglected in the process and they too command for your attention. This is the point at which I feel like I have suddenly been diagnosed with a rare strain of life-ADHD and I no longer know which way it up. Overwhelmed doesn’t quite seem to describe it. I will admit if they had a pill as a quick fix for this type of syndrome, I would certainly be in the mood to entertain it.  For me, there is nothing worse than feeling completely bombarded with problems that you are powerless to fix. I am a challenge taker, a problem solver, a fight till the death kind of soul, yet currently I find myself incapacitated.

I feel like a fish out of water flipping and flopping and gasping with air-okay that metaphor isn’t conveying it for me…to put it frankly, I have been bulldozed by Bullsh#t!   There is no other real way to describe it…I laugh out loud as I say it. You see, my dear friend and I spent a three hour conversation over the phone while drinking wine discussing the several pressing matters that have had me otherwise accosted.  We came to the conclusion that sometimes it is necessary to curse aloud to alleviate the stress and get the point across. Now, I know that there are many people who find it offensive to hear the F-bomb drop, or things described in a somewhat colourful lingo-If you are one of those people, then by all means put on your earmuffs!

So much is lost when you censor your self with social decorum, political correctness, and proper English vocabulary. This tip toeing around matters of importance, areas of disagreement, and fits of anger is positively maddening to me. I am a passionate and extremely emotional woman. There is nothing I detest more than having to suppress myself to pacify those people who fear raw human emotion. You know those types of people who fear loud voices, don’t want to rock the boat, don’t want to hear your truth, or lest actually feel something real. Sadly, when conversing with this candy-coated governor the exact thing you are trying to convey inevitably looses its Umph! For example, there is a substantial difference between saying, “all of this is making me dreadful and frustrated!” and “this is all F@&King BullSh#T!  You see, my friend and I decided-sometimes it takes a curse to get the point across with the exact amount of pain and suffering that you are feeling.

Currently, I am feeling just that. This is all F@&king Bullsh#T!  I am struggling with a career I detest, a dysfunctional blended family, a proverbial tick-tock in my uterus and I am trapped in the economic rut of real estate.  I have been swallowed up whole with the needs of the day…every day.  I find myself lacking enthusiasm and totally disorganized with my time and needs. So I apologize for the absence, no need to send for the search troops.  I will be back soon, once I tend to a few things, take my fair share of alone-ness, let off a little steam, drink a lot of wine, adjust my colourful attitude, and rebalance my yin and yang!

Entry filed under: BALANCE, curse, Feng Shui, Yin Yang. Tags: , , , , .

My New Gateway to Sanity New Kid on the Block

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dana  |  2009/09/23 at 3:40 PM

    Well put…….well said…hope it made you feel better to get it out…colourfully cuz I agree, that really does help sometimes!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Frank  |  2009/09/23 at 8:39 PM

    “There is nothing I detest more than having to suppress myself to pacify those people who fear raw human emotion. You know those types of people who fear loud voices, don’t want to rock the boat, don’t want to hear your truth, or lest actually feel something real.”

    I wonder who “those people” are.

    Reply
  • 3. JimmyBean  |  2009/10/01 at 12:20 PM

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


It’s all Ella Mental!

If you asked me 3 years ago would I consider becoming a stepmother I would have choked emphatically NO! Probably not just no, but HELL NO! I would never entertain the thought of trying to raise someone else’s kid(s) or be married to a man with an enormous load of shh...Shall I just say, B-A-G-G-A-G-E (Pronounced: OMG!) I have seen enough drama on the colourful trails of adventure in my life, enough to know that I would simply not ever knowingly plop myself down amidst the chaos of a stepfamily.

Well, in 2006 I ate my words…

I am a 35-year-old career woman, wife to the most dashingly authentic man on this planet…sorry ladies…and gents! I am a “Mother” ( I quote this b/c I don’t believe that you have to pass a spirited life through your Va-Jay-Jay to be one.) …of 4 wild-hearted four-legged children, and the stepmother to a wickedly brilliant 7-year-old stepdaughter.

Feel free to accompany me as I write about my vastly changing life, my kids; both four-legged and two, my (step) Family (I place this in parenthesis b/c I don’t consider anyone under my roof with the term step, they are simply FAMILY to me!) … and the trials and tribulations of transitioning from a single woman into a stepmother (not always) with grace.

Ella Mental Contact

stepmotherwithgrace@gmail.com

Ella Mental Necessity

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Ella Mental Ramblings

Feeds

Ella Mental Stats

  • 4,552 eyes

Ella Mental Groups

Ella Mental Views

  • None

